The Times’s Newsletter The Veggie Isn’t Just For Vegetarians

It’s for anyone with an interest. But I have to admit, I especially love the idea of persuading people who think they’re not at all interested in vegetarian food that they are, that it’s delicious, that it’s approachable, that it’s very much for them.

Was it always called The Veggie?

One of the rejected names was Totally Herbaceous, which didn’t get far because it’s too long and very silly and no one liked it. We all immediately liked The Veggie — it just felt warm, friendly and inviting. And that idea came from Owen Dodd, an engineer who worked on

Read more

Since its start, MOFGA has had a friendly attitude toward vegetarians

The Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association, which is celebrating its 50th birthday this week, is best-known for cultivating interest in locally grown, organic food. Over the years, some observers have also noticed its long-standing vegetarian friendliness, especially at the Common Ground Country Fair. In 2012, for instance, in a story about the fair, the New York Times mentioned “the vegetarian crowd” in the second sentence.

But MOFGA is not now nor has it ever been a vegetarian organization. True, as the state’s organic certification agent, MOFGA in 2020 certified 564 vegetable farms and plant-based producers. But it also certified

Read more

Are Vegetarians More Depressed Than Non-Vegetarians?

An unclear relation between vegetarian diet and depression

There is a complex relationship between our mental health and what we eat. On the one hand, certain diets can increase the risk of developing a mental disorder. On the other hand, suffering from a mental disorder could lead to eating more or eating less, or eating different kinds of foods. One particular mysterious association is that between depression and being a vegetarian. While some studies showed that vegetarians are more depressed than meat-eaters, others showed the exact opposite.

A new meta-analysis on a vegetarian diet and depressive mood

To unravel this

Read more

Vegetarians eat more visible fat than non-vegetarians: Study

The average daily (per day) consumption of visible fat among vegetarians in these metro cities was 40.4 grams per day while the non-vegetarians consumed just 30.1 grams per day

Hyderabad: A popular belief is that people on non-vegetarian diet tend to have fatty deposits in their body, making them lethargic, while vegetarians with their plant-based diet end up leading fulfilling and enriching lives.

Such popular narratives, however, when tested against hard scientific data, could end up surprising one and all.

Similar was the case when researchers at the Hyderabad-based National Institute of Nutrition (NIN) conducted an analysis of consumption

Read more

Why vegetarians are winning the inflation battle

Now is a great time to become a vegetarian.

That’s because beef and pork-based foods are increasingly becoming more expensive. In June, Americans paid 4.5% more on the month for beef and veal and 3.1% more for pork, according to data from the Consumer Price Index published on Tuesday.

Beef steaks, roasts, pork chops, ground beef and ham saw the largest price increases over the past month compared to May: 6%, 5%, 5%, 3.4% and 3.1%, respectively.

In contrast, frozen vegetables and canned vegetables cost 1.2% and 0.7% less respectively last month compared to May, according to CPI data.


Read more

Vegetarians and non-vegetarians embrace different motives for adopting a plant-based diet

Both vegetarians and non-vegetarians are motivated to adopt (or to consider adopting) a plant-based diet for health reasons. However, vegetarians are more strongly motivated to pursue a plant-based diet for animal rights and environmental reasons than non-vegetarians. These findings come from a study published in the journal Collabra: Psychology.

Interest in plant-based nutrition has been steadily rising in Western culture, likely due to growing concerns about sustainability and the environment. Still, a vegetarian diet remains an unpopular choice — the majority of Westerners are non-vegetarians.

Researcher Christopher J. Hopwood and his team were interested in exploring how the motivations for

Read more